New Music Roundup: 6/7/11

A smorgasbord of new music was released today and the last thing I want to say is that there’s too much.  But if your time is limited and you can only check out a handful of these new releases, please consider these recommendations.

(in alphabetical order)

1. Cults – Cults

Cults – Abducted

Key Tracks: Abducted, Never Heal Myself, Most Wanted, Oh My God, Never Saw the Point
For Fans Of: Tennis, The Raveonettes, The xx, Smith Westerns

2. Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr. – It’s a Corporate World

Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr. – Morning Thought

Key Tracks: Morning Thought, We Almost Lost Detroit, Simple Girl, An Ugly Person On a Movie Screen, Nothing But Our Love
For Fans Of: Pepper Rabbit, Bear Hands, Yellow Ostrich, GIVERS

3. Fucked Up – David Comes To Life

Fucked Up – Queen of Hearts

Key Tracks: Queen of Hearts, The Other Shoe, Let Her Rest, Running On Nothing, A Slanted Tone
For Fans Of: Career Suicide, Future Islands, No Age, Weekend

4. GIVERS – In Light

GIVERS – Ceiling of Plankton

Key Tracks: Ceiling of Plankton, Up Up Up, Saw You First, Noche Nada, Atlantic
For Fans Of: Generationals, Portugal the Man, Okkervil River, Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr., Pepper Rabbit

5. The Postelles – The Postelles

The Postelles – White Night

Key Tracks: White Night, 123 Stop, Boy’s Best Friend, Hey Little Sister, Sleep On the Dance Floor
For Fans Of: The Strokes, Buddy Holly, Albert Hammond Jr, Marty McFly and the Starlighters

If you do have extra time at your disposal (ahem, Glenn), you should definitely take a gander at Paste Magazines quite thorough overview of today’s new releases.

Leave a Reply